The Board

Lord Grade of Yarmouth

Lord Grade of Yarmouth ‡


Lord Grade joined the Board as Chairman in 2006. He has had a long and distinguished career in broadcasting, encompassing ITV, BBC and over nine years as Chief Executive of Channel 4 Television. He is currently the Chairman of Pinewood Shepperton plc. Additionally, Lord Grade is a Non-Executive Director at WRG Worldwide Limited. In November 2010 a Peerage of the United Kingdom for Life was conferred upon Michael. He was appointed a member of the Press Complaints Commission Limited in April 2011.

Tim Steiner

Tim Steiner

Chief Executive Officer

Tim is a founding Director. He has responsibility for keeping a general oversight of the business and strategy. Prior to Ocado, Tim spent eight years as a banker at Goldman Sachs. During his time there, he was based in London, Hong Kong and New York in the Fixed Income division. Tim graduated from Manchester University with an honours degree in economics, finance and accountancy in 1992.

Duncan Tatton-Brown

Duncan Tatton-Brown

Chief Financial Officer

Duncan joined the Board in September 2012. Prior to Ocado, Duncan was Chief Financial Officer of Fitness First plc and previously was Group Finance Director of Kingfisher plc, one of the world's largest home improvement retailers. He has also been Finance Director of B&Q plc, Chief Financial Officer of Virgin Entertainment Group and previously held various senior finance positions at Burton Group plc. He is currently a Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee chairman of Rentokil Initial plc. He has a masters degree in engineering from King's College, Cambridge and is a member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Jason Gissing

Jason Gissing

Commercial Director

Jason is a founding Director. He has Board responsibility for Ocado's retail activities, including buyer, supplier and customer relationships, marketing and brand development. In addition, Jason leads Ocado's green initiatives. Prior to Ocado, Jason spent eight years as a banker at Goldman Sachs. He graduated from Worcester College, Oxford with an honours degree in jurisprudence.

Mark Richardson

Mark Richardson

Operations Director

Mark joined the Board in 2012, having been Ocado's Head of Technology since 2001. He is responsible for the day to day running of the Ocado operation, including the Customer Fulfilment Centres, logistics developments, business planning, engineering and IT. Prior to Ocado, Mark was at the John Lewis Partnership, where he held a number of IT positions, including Head of Selling Systems at Waitrose. Mark graduated from University College London with a physics degree.

Neill Abrams

Neill Abrams

Legal and Business Affairs Director

Neill has been a Director since 2000, having previously advised Ocado since its founding. He is responsible for Ocado's business support, including legal, insurance, risk management, and human resources divisions. Prior to Ocado, Neill was a barrister in practice at One Essex Court and an Executive Director and Counsel at Goldman Sachs in London. Neill graduated from Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge with a masters degree in law in 1989, having previously obtained BA and LLB degrees from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. He is also admitted as a member of the New York Bar and as a South African Advocate.

David Grigson

David Grigson * † ‡

Non-Executive Director and Senior Independent Director

David joined the Board in March 2010. He has held a number of posts, including Chief Financial Officer at Reuters Group PLC, Group Finance Director at Emap PLC, Chairman of EMAP Digital Limited and Non-Executive Director of Carphone Warehouse PLC. He is currently a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee at Standard Life PLC and holds the position of Chairman at Trinity Mirror plc and Creston PLC. David is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales and studied Economics at the University of Manchester.

Ruth Anderson

Ruth Anderson * † ‡

Non-Executive Director

Ruth joined the Board in March 2010. Until April 2009 she was a Vice-Chairman of KPMG in the UK. She joined KPMG in 1976 and became a partner in 1989. She has worked extensively as an adviser with UK and international businesses. Ruth is a Non-Executive Director of Travis Perkins plc and The Royal Parks, an executive agency of the Department of Culture, Media and Sport. Ruth is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales and a member of the Chartered Institute of Taxation. Ruth graduated from Bradford University with an honours degree in French and Spanish.

Douglas McCallum

Douglas McCallum † ‡

Non-Executive Director

Douglas McCallum joined the Board in October 2011. Doug has been a pioneer of the internet industry for 18 years; for the last eleven years at eBay where he led the UK business and then turned around the pan-European business. Prior to eBay he was founder and general manager of a number of businesses in the internet, broadcasting, software and hardware industries. Douglas read politics, philosophy and economics at the University of Oxford, and has an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Alex Mahon

Alex Mahon * ‡

Non-Executive Director

Alex joined the Board in June 2012. She is the Chief Executive Officer of Shine Group and a Non-Executive Director of the Edinburgh TV Festival. Alex has previously held the positions of Chief Operating Officer at talkbackTHAMES and Director of Commercial Development and Strategy at FremantleMedia. Alex has a physics PhD and was a Medical Physicist before becoming a management consultant and then launching internet based retail businesses.

Jörn Rausing

Jörn Rausing ‡

Non-Executive Director

Jörn joined the Board in 2003. He is Tetra Laval Group's Head of Mergers and Acquisitions. He has been a Non-Executive Member of the Tetra Laval Group board since 1991 and is also a Member of the boards of Alfa Laval AB and DeLaval Holdings AB. He holds a degree in business administration from Lund University, Sweden.

Robert Gorrie

Robert Gorrie ‡

Non-Executive Director

Robert joined the Board in 2000, as the Logistics Director. In 2006 he became a Non-Executive Director. Prior to Ocado, he was Group Director of Information Technology at Transport Development Group PLC where he spent ten years in a variety of commercial and operational roles. Prior to that he spent ten years in North America with the logistics service business Christian Salvesen PLC, where he reached the position of Director of Business Development. Robert graduated from Corpus Christi College, Oxford with an honours degree in modern history and economics.

Sir Stuart Rose

Non-Executive Chairman Designate

Sir Stuart Rose joined the Board as Chairman Designate on 11 March 2013. Sir Stuart Rose has worked in retail for over 40 years. He has held Chief Executive Officer positions at Argos plc, Booker plc, Arcadia Group plc and Marks and Spencer plc. He was Chairman of Marks and Spencer plc from 2008 to 2011. Stuart is currently a non-executive director at Land Securities Group and Woolworths Holdings Limited (a South Africa listed international retail group). He also currently chairs Blue Inc and Dressipi, and became Chairman Designate at Fat Face Group Limited in March 2013. Sir Stuart was knighted in 2008 for services to the retail industry and corporate social responsibility.

* Audit Committee  † Remuneration Committee  ‡ Nomination Committee